February poetry found

January was the start of my poetry reading journey. As you can read via my last entry it was glorious.

February saw the end of my chemotherapy and the start of life getting busier in my work and social life. This led me to become a passive recipient of poetry rather than an active seeker. Each day I would discover new writing and words as they crossed my path – via Twitter, from Facebook friends, via my daily commute on the underground and at the London Museum. Poetry, once you open your eyes to see it, really is everywhere.

However, this does mean the quality is more hit and miss than if I was choosing each day. Even if I pick a random page from an anthology, for the most part I already know the anthology itself is high quality works from the particular poet I’ve chosen – whereas a random poem from Benjamin Zephaniah in an exhibition? Surprisingly enough may not be representative of his poetic potential. Benjamin

So what were my highlights?

I don’t know if this is subconscious or just a sign of what the people around me are enjoying most right now – but most of the poems I enjoyed in February are written by women. From Grace Nichol’s ‘Like a Beacon’ to a host of videos from the wonderful Hollie McNish. A stunningly current young woman who sits in the same pocket in my poetry head as Kate Tempest, but coming with the vibrant perspective of a young parent. Anyone’s Anyone, anyone?

The poetry that slipped into my space in February also served to highlight the importance of poetry for public awareness. George The Poet’s World Cancer Day offering gave me a new found respect for his material. Time To Change’s Time To Talk Day about mental health also surfaced brilliant work from a young man talking about suicide. Don’t despair Brethren is a poem about letting go of the past to forge a new positive path – this obviously appeals to the coach in me.

So February was a good month for discovery. But I need to up my game in March. I’m falling off the poetry wagon, and it’s messing with my heart.

Leave a comment